Olio

My friend Elise is a boss at finding cool, foodie hot spots in St. Louis. For our Galentines shindig, she suggested Olio, a gas station-turned-restaurant that serves Mediterranean food. I can only imagine your puzzled faces right now – what kind of a place is that? So, continue reading to see what it’s like:

Olio Mediterranean Food Restaurant St. Louis

Walkway to the entrance.

As soon as I stepped in, I wished I had my “actual” camera to take better photos of the place! But these iPhone pics will have to do. Check out that chandelier made out of lamps! So meta.

Le menu

This was only a portion of our food! Keep scrolling down…

Would you look at this spread. This is Galentine’s Day done right.

I wasn’t too familiar with Mediterranean food, so it was an experience trying the various things on the menu. We ordered pizza, baba ganoush, some meat dish (with a fancy name), and cauliflower bruschette. Two other friends ordered a salad and sandwich, which they said were good. My favorite was the baba ganoush, eaten with the unlimited bread!

Kickin’ it with my gals. (More of us sitting across the table)

On the way out, I took a peek into their wine cellar. It wasn’t until after I left when I learned Olio is a “grown-up wine bar and eatery.” Save the drinks for another day, I guess (like the day when I can afford a $10 glass #whatthe).

Have you ever been to Olio? What other unique St. Louis eats would you recommend?

Thanks for reading!

P.S. The Mud House and Ices: Liquid Nitrogen Ice Cream in St. Louis

5 thoughts on “Olio

  1. Pingback: February ’15 in Review | It's JPei

I'd love to hear from you!

