Oh Christmas Tree

Oh Christmas tree, thy leaves are so unchanging…

Christmas Tree

Those lyrics couldn’t be truer for a fake Christmas tree like ours.

The funny thing is, if I don’t initiate setting the tree up, no one else in my family will do it. Last week, I set my laziness aside and recruited my bro to help me put it up. Since I’m still in the holiday spirit, I thought I’d share a few snaps of our Christmas tree! Below are some of my favorite ornaments:

Angel Ornament

“Wow, that’s a shoddy ornament,” you might be thinking. But the real sentimental value is revealed on the back:

Angel Ornament

That’s right. I made this waaay back in kindergarten! Probably with lots of help from my teacher!

Below is another sentimental one because it was hand-made. I to this day have no idea how I successfully made this thing in sixth grade. I’m a good follower-of-instructions, I guess.

Beaded Snowflake Ornament

And a few ornaments that I like for purely aesthetic reasons:

Christmas House Ornament

Glass Ballerina Ornament

Strangely, this ballerina is also one of my brother’s favorites.

Red Star Christmas Ornament

Red Poinsettia Flowers

I think the poinsettia flowers stuck in there give a unique touch.

While many top off their tree with a star, I’d like think we’re more original than that:

Angel on Top of Christmas Tree

This is actually my least favorite item to hang because it’s so hard to keep it from toppling over!

Found her in Garden Ridge one year, saw how beautiful she was, and somehow convinced my mom to get her (it’s really hard to convince my mom to buy trivial things sometimes, but it seemed that she agreed with me).

One of my favorite things about Christmas is the cheerful, color ambience and eating a variety of food at the Asian potluck parties that I usually go to. Like, food that’s too complicated to make on my own during school so I savor the once-a-year feasting…

What are your holiday traditions? Do you celebrate Christmas or other holidays this time of the year?

Thanks for reading, and Merry Christmas!

6 thoughts on “Oh Christmas Tree

  1. Hi JPei,

    Good to know about your blog through MyEuroCrush’s. I spent my college years in the States about a decade ago and it’s good to “re-visit” that experience through your writings and lovely photos. Hope to read new ones in the future.

    Cheers and have a good new year ahead 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: December ’14 in Review | It's JPei

I'd love to hear from you!

